Fiction Recommendations

IQ

IQBy Ide, Joe
"Joe Ide's IQ is a wondrous double helix of mean-street savvy entwined with classical detection, like Conan Doyle as channeled through Martin Scorsese. It's a terrific book".-Stephen Hunter, cover annotation
View in catalog

House of Names

House of names : a novelBy Tóibín, Colm, 1955- author.
"From the thrilling imagination of bestselling, award-winning Colm Toibin comes a retelling of the Greek myth of Agammemnon, Clytemnestra and their children--a spectacularly audacious, violent and riveting story of family and vengeance." [Publisher jacket annotation]
View in catalog

The Witch of Painted Sorrows

The witch of painted sorrows : a novelBy Rose, M. J., 1953-
"Effortlessly absorbing and richly imagined, with sumptuous detail and spellbinding suspense, The Witch of Painted Sorrows conjures the brilliance and intrigue of Belle Epoque Paris and illuminates the fine line between explosive passion and complete ruination."-jacket
View in catalog

White Tears

White tearsBy Kunzru, Hari, 1969-
"An indelible portrait of obsession, music, insanity, and race that draws us into a dark underworld of blues record collecting, haunted by the ghosts of a violent past." (Publisher note, book jacket)
View in catalog

Christodora

Christodora : a novelBy Murphy, Tim, author.
"Murphy has written The Bonfire of the Vanities for the age of AIDS, using the same reportorial skills as Tom Wolfe to re-create the changing decades, complete with a pitch-perfect deployment of period detail...A powerful evocation." -Publishers Weekly, from the jacket... Read more
View in catalog

The Summer Before the War

The summer before the war : a novelBy Simonson, Helen
"This novel is just the ticket for fans of Simonson's debut, Major Pettigrew's Last Stand, and for any reader who enjoys leisurely fiction steeped in the British past." (jacket-Booklist review) "A bright confection of a book morphs into a story of dignity and backbone.....This book is beautifully plotted and morally astute." (jacket-Kirkus review)
View in catalog

The Dark Flood Rises

The dark flood risesBy Drabble, Margaret, 1939-
"A heartfelt rumination on the process of ageing and [the] inevitability of death.....In this novel, the dark flood is death itself, but trust Margaret Drabble to take even the most worrisome of topics and make it witty, relatable and, most importantly, readable". -Rebecca Monks, from the jacket
View in catalog

Celine

Celine : a novel [sound recording]By Heller, Peter, 1959-
"From the bestselling author of The Dog Stars and The Painter, a luminous, masterly novel of suspense--the story of Celine, an elegant, aristocratic private eye who specializes in reuniting families as she tries to make amends for a loss in her own past."--jacket note
View in catalog

Orphan X

Orphan XBy Hurwitz, Gregg Andrew
"Orphan X blows the doors off most thrillers I've read and catapults the readers on a cat-and-mouse chase that feels like a missile launch." -David Baldacci
View in catalog

Just Another Jihadi Jane

Just another Jihadi JaneBy Khair, Tabish,
"Tabish Khair's novel brilliantly engages prejudices and preconceptions and turns them upside down. As did All Quiet on the Western Front, it reminds a new generation that heroism and sacrifice are not limited to one side in a conflict, and that the first victims of a murderous regime are those who live within it." [Jacket]
View in catalog

The Invisible Guardian

The invisible guardian : a novelBy Redondo, Dolores, 1969-
"Myth and reality blend and blur in this sophisticated and razor-sharp thriller. A gritty, fascinating, and compelling story." (Steve Berry, from the cover)
View in catalog

Angel Catbird (2 items)

Angel Catbird By Atwood, Margaret
"A series of all-ages graphic novels about a superhero who is part-bird, part-cat, and suffers an identity crisis because of his conflicting predator/prey status." (Comicsalliance) "A real trip...Half-cat, half-bird, half pulp adventure, and half environmental treatise." (Polygon)
View in catalog

Behold the Dreamers

Behold the dreamers : a novelBy Mbue, Imbolo
"For fans of Americanah and The Lowland comes a debut novel about an immigrant couple striving to get ahead as the Great Recession hits home. With profound empathy, keen insight, and sly wit, Imbolo Mbue has written a compulsively readable story about marriage, class, race, and the trapdoors in the American Dream." Publisher annotation
View in catalog

Faithful

Faithful : a novelBy Hoffman, Alice
Faithful is the story of a girl and a single moment that changes her forever.... Read more
View in catalog

The Mortifications : A Novel

The mortifications : a novelBy Palacio, Derek, 1982-
"Derek Palacio's stunning, mythic novel marks the arrival of a fresh voice and a new chapter in the history of 21st century Cuban-American literature. Breathtaking, soulful, and profound, The Mortifications is an intoxicating family saga and a timely, urgent expression of longing for one's true homeland." PUB
View in catalog

Tiger's Wife

Train Dreams

Train dreamsBy Johnson, Denis, 1949-
This brief novella evokes the American Northwest in the first half of the Twentieth century, depicting the life of an honest man haunted by the loss of his family. He wears his body down with rough labor -- logging or building railroads -- revealing both the difficulty and the simplicity in this existence. A lonesome loner, he pays homage to the death of his wife by remaining in the location of their chosen home his entire lifetime.... Read more
View in catalog

National Book Awards 2016 Finalists in Fiction (5 items)

Another Brooklyn

Another Brooklyn : a novelBy Woodson, Jacqueline
"Another Brooklyn is heartbreaking and restorative, a gorgeous paean to all we must leave behind on the path to becoming ourselves." --Tracy K. Smith "Jacqueline Woodson sings memory. Her words like summer lightning get caught in my throat...a wild sea pausing in the wind." -Sister Sonia Sanchez
View in catalog

The Vegetarian

The vegetarian : a novelBy Han, Kang, 1970-
"This is a horror story in its depiction of the unknowability of others—of the sudden feeling that you've never actually known someone close to you. It's also a decidedly literary story for its exploration of despair, inner unrest, and the pain of coming to understand yourself." -Publishers Weekly
View in catalog

This Must Be the Place

This must be the placeBy O'Farrell, Maggie, 1972- author.
"A magical story...When it ends, the reader is stunned and grateful." -Publishers Weekly
View in catalog

Head Full of Ghosts

A head full of ghosts : a novelBy Tremblay, Paul
Beautifully written, dark and profoundly disturbing story of a family fallen on hard times and falling apart.
View in catalog

Britt-Marie Was Here

Britt-Marie was here : a novelBy Backman, Fredrik, 1981- author.
Insightful, introspective, and thought-provoking, Britt-Marie Was Here provides another big helping of Backman’s delightful witticisms, as Britt-Marie proves that it’s never too late to start over and live the life you deserve.... Read more
View in catalog

Grace : a novel

Grace : a novelBy Deón, Natashia, author.
The dual stories of a mother, a runaway plantation slave and the child she never knew are woven through the historic events of the mid-19th century, including the Civil War and the Emancipation Proclamation. (PUB)
View in catalog

Angels of Detroit

Angels of Detroit : a novelBy Hebert, Christopher, author.
"Christopher Hebert gets Detroit right in this beautifully made book.....between last hope and postapocalyptic nightmare." -Jaimy Gordon, author of Lord of Misrule
View in catalog

Award Winners & Bestsellers

Nobel Prize
2015 Prize in Literature
Svetlana Alexievich

National Book Award

2015 Prize for Fiction
Fortune Smiles
by Adam Johnson

2015 Prize for Nonfiction
Between the World and Me
by Ta-Nehisi Coates

Newbery Medal
2016 award
Last Stop on Market Street

by Matt de la Peña

Caldecott Medal
2016 award
Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World’s Most Famous Bear
b
y Lindsay Mattick, illustrated by Sophie Blackall

Printz Award

2016 award
Bone Gap

by Laura Ruby

New York Times Fiction Bestsellers (top 5 combined print & e-book sales)
The Last Mile
, by David Baldacci
The Obsession
, by Nora Roberts
Stuck-up Suit, by Vi Keeland and Penelope Ward
Bounty, by Kristen Ashley
The Girl on the Train
, by Paula Hawkins
 

New York Times Nonfiction Bestsellers (top 5 combined print & e-book sale)
The Rainbow Comes and Goes, by Anderson Cooper and Gloria Vanderbilt
The Sleep Revolution, by Arianna Huffington
When Breath Becomes Air
, by Paul Kalanithi
Thomas Jefferson and the Tripoli Pirates
, by Brian Kilmeade and Don Yaegar
Alexander Hamilton
, by Ron Chernow

 

More Award Winners & Bestsellers

Following is a list of award-winning and bestselling materials from a variety of sources. Links will take you to an external page that will open in a new window. If YDL does not have an item you are interested in, please submit a Materials Suggestion to us.

Academy Awards

American Booksellers Association National Indie Bestsellers

Billboard Top 100 songs

Caldecott Medal

Coretta Scott King Award

New York Times Bestsellers

Newbery Medal

Printz Award