Browse

The queen's accomplice

The queen's accompliceBy MacNeal, Susan Elia
"This New York Times bestselling mystery series continues as American-born codebreaker extraordinaire, Maggie Hope, returns to England to continue her intelligence work during World War II. England, 1942. Great Britain and the U.S. have joined forces to fight the Nazis.... Read more
View in catalog

New & On-Order DVDs & Blu-ray October/November 2016 (24 items)

Oct/Nov 2016 New and on Order DVD/Blu-ray
A listing of DVD's and Blu-ray added to the collection in October/November 2016
View in catalog

Behold the Dreamers

Behold the dreamers : a novelBy Mbue, Imbolo
"For fans of Americanah and The Lowland comes a debut novel about an immigrant couple striving to get ahead as the Great Recession hits home. With profound empathy, keen insight, and sly wit, Imbolo Mbue has written a compulsively readable story about marriage, class, race, and the trapdoors in the American Dream." Publisher annotation
View in catalog

Ghetto : The Invention of a Place, The History of an Idea

Ghetto : the invention of a place, the history of an ideaBy Duneier, Mitchell author.
"By expertly resurrecting the history of the ghetto from Venice to the present, Duneier's Ghetto provides a remarkable new understanding of an age-old concept. He concludes that if we are to understand today's ghettos--including the recent events in Ferguson--the Jewish and black ghettos of the past should not be forgotten." Publisher annotation
View in catalog

Blood at the Root : A Racial Cleansing in America

Blood at the root : a racial cleansing in AmericaBy Phillips, Patrick, 1970- author.
"A gripping tale of racial cleansing in Forsyth County, Georgia, and a harrowing testament to the deep roots of racial violence in America." Publisher annotation
View in catalog

The Long Game : How Obama Defied Washington and Redefined America's Role in the World

The long game : how Obama defied Washington and redefined America's role in the worldBy Chollet, Derek H, author.
"Describes how President Obama has changed and improved the course of American foreign policy through the way he approached difficult global challenges including the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan, turbulence in Syria and the rise of ISIS." Pub annotation
View in catalog

National Book Awards 2016 Finalists in Nonfiction (5 items)

Strangers in their own land : anger and mourning on the American rightBy Hochschild, Arlie Russell, 1940- author.
In Strangers in Their Own Land, the renowned sociologist Arlie Hochschild embarks on a thought-provoking journey from her liberal hometown of Berkeley, California, deep into the heart of the bayou of Lake Charles, Louisiana, a stronghold of the conservative Right.
View in catalog

National Book Awards 2016 Finalists in Fiction (5 items)

National Book Awards 2016 Finalists in Fiction (5 items)

The Nameless City

The Nameless CityBy Hicks, Faith Erin author, artist.
Kaidu is new to The Nameless City, which his people named Daidu when they conquered it 30 years before. He has come to be trained as a Dao warrior, whether he likes it or not, and to meet his father for the first time. However, the Nameless City is not what Kaidu expected, and when he meets a girl name Rat he begins to question his own people’s control over the city.
View in catalog

Another Brooklyn

Another Brooklyn : a novelBy Woodson, Jacqueline
"Another Brooklyn is heartbreaking and restorative, a gorgeous paean to all we must leave behind on the path to becoming ourselves." --Tracy K. Smith "Jacqueline Woodson sings memory. Her words like summer lightning get caught in my throat...a wild sea pausing in the wind." -Sister Sonia Sanchez
View in catalog

Kill 'em and Leave : Searching for James Brown and the American Soul

Kill 'em and leave : searching for James Brown and the American soulBy McBride, James, 1957-
"National Book Award winner James McBride goes in search of the "real" James Brown--and his surprising journey illuminates the ways in which our cultured heritage has been shaped by Brown's legacy."-Jacket
View in catalog

The Vegetarian

The vegetarian : a novelBy Han, Kang, 1970-
"This is a horror story in its depiction of the unknowability of others—of the sudden feeling that you've never actually known someone close to you. It's also a decidedly literary story for its exploration of despair, inner unrest, and the pain of coming to understand yourself." -Publishers Weekly
View in catalog

Award Winners & Bestsellers

Nobel Prize
2015 Prize in Literature
Svetlana Alexievich

National Book Award

2015 Prize for Fiction
Fortune Smiles
by Adam Johnson

2015 Prize for Nonfiction
Between the World and Me
by Ta-Nehisi Coates

Newbery Medal
2016 award
Last Stop on Market Street

by Matt de la Peña

Caldecott Medal
2016 award
Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World’s Most Famous Bear
b
y Lindsay Mattick, illustrated by Sophie Blackall

Printz Award

2016 award
Bone Gap

by Laura Ruby

New York Times Fiction Bestsellers (top 5 combined print & e-book sales)
The Last Mile
, by David Baldacci
The Obsession
, by Nora Roberts
Stuck-up Suit, by Vi Keeland and Penelope Ward
Bounty, by Kristen Ashley
The Girl on the Train
, by Paula Hawkins
 

New York Times Nonfiction Bestsellers (top 5 combined print & e-book sale)
The Rainbow Comes and Goes, by Anderson Cooper and Gloria Vanderbilt
The Sleep Revolution, by Arianna Huffington
When Breath Becomes Air
, by Paul Kalanithi
Thomas Jefferson and the Tripoli Pirates
, by Brian Kilmeade and Don Yaegar
Alexander Hamilton
, by Ron Chernow

 

More Award Winners & Bestsellers

Following is a list of award-winning and bestselling materials from a variety of sources. Links will take you to an external page that will open in a new window. If YDL does not have an item you are interested in, please submit a Materials Suggestion to us.

Academy Awards

American Booksellers Association National Indie Bestsellers

Billboard Top 100 songs

Caldecott Medal

Coretta Scott King Award

New York Times Bestsellers

Newbery Medal

Printz Award