Genealogy

Community Resources
Databases

Ancestry Library Edition

A large collection of materials for genealogy research

HeritageQuest Online

Search census records, family and local history books, and millions of genealogy articles and records

Newspapers & Magazines
Websites

Allen County Public Library, Fort Wayne, In: Genealogy

Second largest genealogical library in the U.S, after LDS Family History Library (see Family Search below for access to LDS information), with a searchable online catalog.

Cyndi's List

Popular genealogy index which features over 270,000 links, categorized and cross-referenced.

Ellis Island

Search for ancestors who came to the U.S. as passengers on ships that landed at Ellis Island.

Family Search

Access to LDS databases, research outlines, and the LDS Family History Library catalog of books and microfilm.

MeL: Genealogy Gateway

A resource guide to many genealogy websites, with a focus on Michigan records

MI Department of Education (Genealogy Research at the Library of Michigan and Archives of Michigan)

The Library of Michigan's Abrams Foundation Historical Collection has over 100,000 books, microforms and electronic resources, with an emphasis on the Great Lakes region and states east of the Mississippi River, including the Great Lakes, New England, Mid-Atlantic and Southern states, as well as the Canadian provinces of Ontario and Quebec.

National Archives and Records Administration

Access to information maintained by the federal government, including census, military, naturalization, and ship passenger list records.

Rootsweb

Host website for a large number of genealogy message boards and mailing lists.

South Adams Street Website

A Master's project for Eastern Michigan University's Historic Preservation Program in Ypsilanti, Michigan this website details families, buildings, events, religious and social organizations of the historic African American neighborhood of Adams Street from the period around 1900. 

StateGenSites

A popular directory for U.S genealogy with over 20,000 genealogy web sites, categorizing links by state within 27 categories.

US Genweb

Free genealogy websites for research in every U.S. county and state, provided by volunteers working together

Staff Recommendations

Outside the box : interviews with contemporary cartoonistsBy Chute, Hillary L, interviewer.

Hillary Chute is Professor of English at University of Chicago and a frequent contributor to the canon of writing on comics; she is the author of Graphic Women: Life Narratives and Contemporary Comics. Over the past decade, Chute has conducted interviews with many of today’s leading cartoonists, and presents twelve of these in Outside the Box. Among those interviewed are Art Spiegelman, Chris Ware, Scott McCloud, Charles Burns, Joe Sacco, Lynda Barry, Daniel Clowes and Alison Bechdel. Fans of graphic novels/narratives will love this book for the insights into how these authors/artists got into this rapidly expanding field. For the newly curious, this book is a great introduction to the history of the field and an intimate look at a few of its literary icons. A profusion of full color illustrations throughout the text supplement these excellent, in-depth interviews. Highly recommended.

View in catalog