World Languages & Literacy

Community Resources

University of Michigan LRC Language Bank

What is the Language Bank? The Language Bank is a service provided by the Language Resource Center, intended to bring together students, faculty and staff of the University of Michigan who are interested in translating, with campus and community agencies who need translation or interpretation services.

How does the Language Bank work? Campus or community agencies submit a description of a translation project, along with the language(s) and date(s) needed. Our Language Bank Coordinator will then sort through the database to offer the "job" to volunteer translators who meet the criteria for the translation.

 

Databases

Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos

This site provides access to the online version of World Book Encyclopedia in Spanish.

Informe!

Full-text Spanish-language and bilingual publications in both academic and lifestyle spheres, including culture, business, and news

Mango Languages

Mango Languages

Create a free account and start learning one of over 40 different languages! Lessons include vocabulary, grammar, and multimedia components. A mobile app is available for iPhone & Android.

Michigan eLibrary (MeL Catalog)

To use MeLCat to find materials in languages other than English, use the Keyword Search and type the language in the Search box.  You can have available materials sent to your home library via InterLibrary Loan.  Visit or call the Reference Desk at your home library for more information on this service.
 

WorldCat

A catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide

Newspapers & Magazines
Websites

About.com

Type (for example) "French language" or any other language in the search box to find an official page on that language complete with a personal "guide" and tutorials.

Activities for ESL Students

Activities for ESL students website has quizzes, exercises and puzzles and lots more!

 

Annenberg Media

Provides excellent streaming video programs for students of English, French, and Spanish.  Under "Teach Resources" click on "Foreign Language".
 

Babbel

Learn English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, or Swedish via sounds and images, and communicate with other learners through and online forum and chat room.  There are multiple ways to use Babbel so you can learn on-the-go or in your in-between time.  First, Babbel.com is a multimedia website that can be accessed from any computer with Internet.  Then with Babbel Mobile, you can learn anywhere on your iPhone, iPod Touch, or iPad. Finally, another great way to stay present with the language is with Babbel Refresh, a local vocabulary trainer that you can download to your home computer.

BBC Languages

This popular site offers free beginner's audio and video courses in French, German, Spanish, Italian, Greek, Portuguese, and Chinese as well as short guides for over 30 other languages.

Dave's ESL Cafe

Dave's ESL Café for ESL/EFL students and teachers.

 

English Language Institute (UM) Resource Page

This website offers useful learning links to online resources for independent study of these topics and more.  You will be able to browse or search the database of learning links to self-directed, web-based English language learning sites and other resources.  Beyond online exercises, you will find free courses you can sign up for, free language skills software you can download to your home computer, and lists of common errors and common expressions.

FSI Language Courses

View printed Student Texts and listen to units from the Foreign Language Institute's language instruction audios covering 43 languages. FSI learning modules can also be downloaded at LiveLingua  http://www.livelingua.com/fsi-language-courses.php

Hello-Hello

A language learning and social networking site developed in collaboration with the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages.  Learn English, French, German, Spanish, Italian, and Portuguese.

iLoveLanguages

Links to over 2,400 language-related websites on the Internet.

Interesting Things for ESL Students

A fun and useful study site for ESL students.
 

International languages state-wide library resources

Find international language materials at other Michigan libraries using this useful list maintained on the website of Canton Public Library.
 

Lifelong Learning at WCC

 Refresh your knowledge of a language or tackle a new one, ranging from American Sign Language to Spanish.

Mingoville

A free online English language learning program which includes interactive lessons, games, and activities to help users of all ages gain knowledge of the language.  The program's personalized accounts track completed tasks and individual progress.

Voice of America Learning English

Voice of America provides radio transcripts and audio files of news about American Life and world affairs so that ESL learners can read along as they listen.
 

Washtenaw Literacy

Washtenaw Literacy tutors adults in reading, writing and English as a Second Language (ESL).  Located on the first floor of the Whittaker Branch of Ypsilanti District Library. Learn to read:  one-on-one tutoring program will help you meet your goals. You will meet for two hours each week with a volunteer tutor. Tutoring is free. Open to adults who live, work, or volunteer in Washtenaw County. Washtenaw Literacy offers two English as a Second language (ESL) programs for adults. Both programs are free and open to adults who live, work, or volunteer in Washtenaw County. ESL groups help learners build their English skills in a small group setting. Phone: (734) 879-1320

Staff Recommendations

The nix [sound recording]By Hill, Nathan, 1975-
A college professor must decide if he wants to help his arrested mother, or publicly humiliate her for abandoning him when he was a child. This is a rich and bitingly funny first novel, with award-worthy narration.
View in catalog