Select Page
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The Fall 2018 Family Read Ghost by Jason Reynolds is recommended for students in grades 3-8. We want everyone to participate at the October 13 Field Day, so here’s a short list of suggested books for younger readers. Is the one you want checked out? Let us know and we’ll help you get it from another Michigan library!

Who Was Jesse Owens?

Buckley, James, Jr., 1963- author.

Describes the life of the sharecroppers' son who became an Olympic legend and challenged Hitler's dream of Aryan superiority. Grades 2-4.

Find in catalog
Marco’s Run

Cartier, Wesley

A boy runs so fast that he imagines himself to be a rabbit, a bobcat, a horse, and a cheetah. Grades K-2.

Find in catalog
Stretch

Cronin, Doreen

Rhyming text describes the many ways to stretch. Pre-K.

Find in catalog
Wilma Unlimited

Krull, Kathleen

A biography of the African-American woman who overcame crippling polio as a child to become the first woman to win three gold medals in track in a single Olympics. Grades K-2.

Find in catalog
Running Rivals

Maddox, Jake

Amy hurt her knee in a race. Now she's back on the team, but will have to get her confidence back in order to compete. Grades 2-3.

Find in catalog
The Quickest Kid in Clarksville

Miller, Pat Zietlow author.

Growing up in the segregated town of Clarksville, Tennessee, in the 1960s, Alta's family cannot afford to buy her new sneakers--but she still plans to attend the parade celebrating her hero Wilma Rudolph's three Olympic gold medals. Grades K-2.

Find in catalog
Izzy Barr, Running Star

Mills, Claudia

The third book in the Franklin School Friends series is a fast and funny story about sports, friendship, and sibling rivalries. Grades 2-3.

Find in catalog
Ready? Set. Raymond!

Nelson, Vaunda Micheaux

Three stories in which a little boy does everything fast, from brushing his teeth to making friends to running races. Grades K-2.

Find in catalog
Girl Running: Bobbi Gibb and the Boston Marathon

Pimentel, Annette Bay author.

Offers an illustrated telling of the story of Bobby Gibb and how her persistence led her to become the first woman to finish the Boston Marathon in 1966. Grades K-3.

Find in catalog
One, Two, Three…Crawl

Thompson, Carol, 1951- author, illustrator.

Help build confidence and control. Ready? One, two, three...let's move! Pre-K.

Find in catalog