Select Page

Interest: Ypsi Family Read

Vote for the Next Family Read Book

Published: July 10, 2019

Cast your vote for the next Family Read book. After voting, use a special code to earn a badge in the Summer Challenge!

Post

Help Pick the Fall 2019 Family Read Book

Published: June 11, 2019

Each season we choose an Ypsi Family Read book we hope everyone will read. Then we end the season with a fun family party. With input from students at Erickson and Estabrook, we narrowed our list for the fall to five titles! Help us decide which book will be the Fall 2019 Family Read. Click the button to the right to tell us which books and celebration events sound the best to you. After you fill out the ballot, log the code BOOKBALLOT in the Summer Challenge Family Read Explore Challenge to earn a badge! Family Read Ballot The Parker …

Post

See pictures from the Ypsi Family Read Cuban Arts Celebration!

Published: March 20, 2019

This season we read Lucky Broken Girl, the 2018 Pura Belpré award winner by local author Ruth Behar. In the book, Ruthie Mizrahi and her family have recently emigrated from Castro’s Cuba to New York City. Just when she’s finally beginning to gain confidence in her mastery of English – and enjoying her reign as her neighborhood’s hopscotch queen – a horrific car accident leaves her in a body cast and confined to her bed for a long recovery. As Ruthie’s world shrinks because of her inability to move, her powers of observation and her heart grow larger and she …

Post

lucky broken girl cover
Ypsi Family Read: Lucky Broken Girl by Ruth Behar

Published: January 10, 2019

This season’s Family Read selection, Lucky Broken Girl by Ruth Behar, is an unforgettable multicultural coming of age story.

Post

Lucky Broken Girl Read-Alikes for Younger Readers

Find some books for younger readers to participate in the 2019 Winter Ypsi Family Read!

See pictures from the Ypsi Family Read Track Meet!

Published: October 23, 2018

This season we Kicked off our very first Ypsi Family Read with Jason Reynolds’, Ghost, a National Book Award finalist. It’s the first in a short series about runners on a middle school track team coached by a former Olympian medalist. Castle “Ghost” Crenshaw is an 11-year old with incredible natural talent, but will he choose to run from his past or toward his dreams?On October 12th, 2018 we hosted the Family Read Track and Field Day at Frog Island Park with the help of Ypsilanti Running Company, Black Men Read, Will Langford, and the City of Ypsilanti. It was a …

Post

Ghost Read-Alikes for Younger Readers

The Fall 2018 Family Read Ghost by Jason Reynolds is recommended for students in grades 3-8. We want everyone to participate at the October 13 Field Day, so here’s a short list of suggested books for younger readers. Is the one you want checked out? Let us know and we’ll help you get it from another Michigan library! Who Was Jesse Owens? Buckley, James, Jr., 1963- author. Describes the life of the sharecroppers’ son who became an Olympic legend and challenged Hitler’s dream of Aryan superiority. Grades 2-4. Find in catalog Marco’s Run Cartier, Wesley A boy runs so fast …

ghost book cover
Jason Reynolds’ “Ghost” kicks off the Ypsi Family Read

Published: August 27, 2018

The Ypsi Family Read brings kids and families together to read and celebrate a book! This season’s book is Ghost, by Jason Reynolds.

Post