Select Page
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Book Lovers

Events

No items found

Book Lists

Ghost Read-Alikes for Younger Readers

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The Fall 2018 Family Read Ghos …

Go to List
Graphic Novels for Kids and Teens by BIPOC Authors

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Graphic novels for kids and teens by BIPOC authors.

Go to List
Lucky Broken Girl Read-Alikes for Younger Readers

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Find some books for younger readers to participate in the 2019 Winter Ypsi Family Read!

Go to List
Young Muslim girl wearing a pink headscarf
Muslim Books for Little Ones

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Thanks to the tireless work of Arab literature blogs and library blogs, we can offer you this list of picture books featuring Muslim children and their families. We hope these books will provide a deeper understanding of the Muslim American and global Muslim experience.

Go to List
PBS Great American Read banner
The Great American Read

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

PBS’ The Great American Read chose these 100 novels as America’s favorites. Which one will be the winner?

Go to List
The Parker Inheritance Read-Alikes for Younger Readers

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Our Fall 2019 Family Read selection is full of mysteries and local history. Younger readers can join the conversation with these picture books that touch on the same themes.

Go to List
Top Challenged Books of 2018

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The Absolutely True Diary of a …

Go to List
banned book
Top Challenged Books of 2019

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The Handmaid’s Tale Atwo …

Go to List
Women’s History Books

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

This collection of books focuses on prominent women and female-centered movements throughout history.

Go to List

NYT Best Sellers

New York Times weekly lists

aalbc.com

AALBC.com is dedicated to books by or about people of African descent

ALA's Notable Books

Fiction, nonfiction, and poetry by year

National Education Association Booklists

NEA and compiled booklists

National Book Awards

Fiction, nonfiction, poetry, translated lit, and YA winners by year

Services

1000 Books Before Kindergarten

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Track your progress and earn stickers and prizes!

Ask a Librarian

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Call or Email our Librarians with Your Questions

Book Club Kits

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Multiple copies of great books with discussion prompts

Book Donations

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Donate books, support the library!

Book Groups

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Current monthly book groups at YDL

Family Read

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

A Community Read for kids & families

Friends Book Shop & Sales

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Buy books, support the library!

Hand-Picked for You!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Let library staff pick out some great new titles for you.

Library Cards

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Apply for a card

Roller Girl

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Hear members of the A2RD league read chapters of Roller Girl, the Newbery Award winning graphic novel by Victoria Jamieson, and get short skating lessons and safety tips.

Summer Challenge

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Read, Learn, Explore

Volunteer at the Friends Book Shop

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Sell books, support the library!

Resources

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Access interactive eBooks for kids on different subjects, genres, and reading levels.  Login is “continue” and the password is “reading.”

EBSCO eBooks
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Over 20,000 ebooks and journal articles on a variety of subjects. Formerly known as the NetLibrary collection.

hoopla
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Download movies, television shows, music, comic books, eBooks, and eAudiobooks to your laptop or mobile device.

iPhone App Android App Kindle App

literary reference center logo
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

A full-text database with information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. LRC includes plot summaries, essays of literary criticism, biographies, book reviews, poems, short stories, and author interviews.

Michigan Authors & Illustrators
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Find biographical information about Michigan authors and illustrators of all genres and subjects.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Trusted source of read-alike recommendations to help kids and adults find books that are just right for their reading level and interest.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Download audiobooks and books to your computer, listening device, or eReader.

iPhone App Android App

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Hundreds of thousands of poems, as well as short stories, biographies, and essays. Topics include the poetic forms, movements, and techniques.

RBdigital
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Enjoy access to more than 3,800 popular digital magazines through RBdigital (formerly Zinio).

iPhone App Android App

read it
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Basic grammar and reading tools and adapted reading material for English Language Learners.

TumbleBook
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Kids will love these animated, talking books! Watch your favorite children’s books come alive with narration, music, and interactive elements.