Select Page
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Book Lovers

Events

Book Lists

Ghost Read-Alikes for Younger Readers

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The Fall 2018 Family Read Ghost by Jason Reynolds is recommended for students in grades 3-8. We want everyone to participate at the October 13 Field Day, so here’s a short list of suggested books for younger readers. Is the one you want checked out? Le …

Go to List
PBS Great American Read banner
The Great American Read

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

PBS’ The Great American Read chose these 100 novels as America’s favorites. Which one will be the winner?

Go to List

NYT Best Sellers

New York Times weekly lists

aalbc.com

AALBC.com is dedicated to books by or about people of African descent

ALA's Notable Books

Fiction, nonfiction, and poetry by year

National Education Association Booklists

NEA and compiled booklists

National Book Awards

Fiction, nonfiction, poetry, translated lit, and YA winners by year

Services

Ask a Librarian

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Call or Email our Librarians with Your Questions

Book Club Kits

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Multiple copies of great books with discussion prompts

Book Donations

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Donate books, support the library!

Book Groups

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Current monthly book groups at YDL

Family Read

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

A Community Read for kids & families

Friends Book Shop & Sales

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Buy books, support the library!

Library Cards

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Apply for a card

Summer Challenge

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Read, Learn, Explore

Volunteer at the Friends Book Shop

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Sell books, support the library!

Resources

EBSCO eBooks
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Over 20,000 ebooks and journal articles on a variety of subjects. Formerly known as the NetLibrary collection.

hoopla
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Download movies, television shows, music, comic books, eBooks, and eAudiobooks to your laptop or mobile device.

iPhone App Android App Kindle App

Michigan Authors & Illustrators
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Find biographical information about Michigan authors and illustrators of all genres and subjects.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Trusted source of read-alike recommendations to help kids and adults find books that are just right for their reading level and interest.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Download audiobooks and books to your computer, listening device, or eReader.

iPhone App Android App

RBdigital
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Enjoy access to more than 250 popular digital magazines through RBdigital (formerly Zinio).

iPhone App Android App

TumbleBook
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Kids will love these animated, talking books! Watch your favorite children’s books come alive with narration, music, and interactive elements.