Select Page
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Kids & Parents

Learn, imagine, discover, create!

Find books, websites, homework help, and fun activities that inspire learning, spark curiosity and discovery, and connect kids and parents in the Ypsilanti community to each other and library resources. For kids 5 and under, check out the Little Ones page!

Events

Book Lists

Bullying

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Learn to stand up for yourself, recognize your own bullying behavior, and understand what it means to be kind through these books, recommended for ages 3-8.

Go to List
Ghost Read-Alikes for Younger Readers

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The Fall 2018 Family Read Ghost by Jason Reynolds is recommended for students in grades 3-8. We want everyone to participate at the October 13 Field Day, so here’s a short list of suggested books for younger readers. Is the one you want checked out? Le …

Go to List
Great Family Read Alouds

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Read aloud as a family, even after your kids learn to read! Kids can comprehend at a higher level than they can read, so keep reading aloud to build vocabulary and enjoy an unplugged activity together.

Go to List
Grief & Loss

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Books that can help you talk about death, loss, and grieving with a child ages 3-8.

Go to List
Maker and STEM Books for Kids

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Learn and create at home with hands-on activities detailed in these books. Fun for the entire family!

Go to List
Multicultural Books for Kids 7-12

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Books allow kids to see characters like themselves, or get a glimpse into other people’s lives. Both are important in today’s world!

Go to List
Picture Books by African American Authors

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Great recently published books for kids ages 2-8 by African American authors.

Go to List

Services

Apps for Kids Ages 5-12

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Recommended Apps

Book Club Kits

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Multiple copies of great books with discussion prompts

Book Groups

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Current monthly book groups at YDL

Family Read

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

A Community Read for kids & families

Homework Help

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

In-person or online

Maker Cart

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Monthly DIY projects for kids and families

Play Spaces

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Play-Based Learning

Sensory Play Kits

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Toys designed for people with sensory difficulties

Summer Challenge

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Read, Learn, Explore