Select Page
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Kids & Parents

Learn, imagine, discover, create!

Find books, websites, homework help, and fun activities that inspire learning, spark curiosity and discovery, and connect kids and parents in the Ypsilanti community to each other and library resources. For kids 5 and under, check out the Little Ones page!

Events

Book Lists

Bullying

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Learn to stand up for yourself, recognize your own bullying behavior, and understand what it means to be kind through these books, recommended for ages 3-8.

Go to List
Childhood Resilience

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Find books that tie in with YDL’s newest exhibit, The Power of Children, in this list. These are stories of children who faced adversity unflinchingly.

Go to List
Great Family Read Alouds

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Read aloud as a family, even after your kids learn to read! Kids can comprehend at a higher level than they can read, so keep reading aloud to build vocabulary and enjoy an unplugged activity together.

Go to List
Grief & Loss

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Books that can help you talk about death, loss, and grieving with a child ages 3-8.

Go to List
Lucky Broken Girl Read-Alikes for Younger Readers

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Find some books for younger readers to participate in the 2019 Winter Ypsi Family Read!

Go to List
Maker and STEM Books for Kids

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Learn and create at home with hands-on activities detailed in these books. Fun for the entire family!

Go to List
Multicultural Books for Kids 7-12

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Books allow kids to see characters like themselves, or get a glimpse into other people’s lives. Both are important in today’s world!

Go to List
Picture Books by African American Authors

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Great recently published books for kids ages 2-8 by African American authors.

Go to List
Youth Non-fiction Books About Gardening

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

It’s Our Garden: From Seeds to Harvest in a School Garden Ancona, George A portrait of a community garden, showing how citizens work together. Find in catalog A Seed is Sleepy Aston, Dianna Hutts Introduces young readers to the characteristics, g …

Go to List

Services

Apps for Kids Ages 5-12

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Recommended Apps

Book Club Kits

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Multiple copies of great books with discussion prompts

Book Groups

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Current monthly book groups at YDL

Family Read

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

A Community Read for kids & families

Homework Help

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

In-person or online

Play Spaces

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Play-Based Learning

Sensory Play Kits

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Toys designed for people with sensory difficulties

Summer Challenge

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Read, Learn, Explore

Tween Advisory Board

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Plan library activities.