Select Page
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Little Ones

Talk, Sing, Read, Write, and Play every day!

The first five years of a child’s life are the most important. Children develop movement, cognitive, and social skills that last a lifetime. The library is here to help parents and caregivers give their little ones the best start in life.

Events

Services

1000 Books Before Kindergarten

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Track your progress and earn stickers and prizes!

Apps for Kids Ages 0-5

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Recommended Apps

Michigan Activity Pass

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Get free and discounted passes to museums and parks!

Play Kits

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Bring learning home with toys, books, and puppets

Play Spaces

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Play-Based Learning

Storytimes

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Books, Songs, and Rhymes for Every Stage

Summer Challenge

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Read, Learn, Explore

Books, Movies, & Music

Early World of Learning
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

An interactive educational experience for young learners age 3 and up. With stories, songs, games, and videos, kids will practice concepts such as letters, numbers, shapes, and more.

hoopla
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Download movies, television shows, music, comic books, eBooks, and eAudiobooks to your laptop or mobile device.

iPhone App Android App Kindle App

Michigan Activity Pass
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Get free and discounted passes to museums and parks!

TumbleBook
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Kids will love these animated, talking books! Watch your favorite children’s books come alive with narration, music, and interactive elements.

Book Lists

boy wearing red backpack walking on dirt road
Books About Starting Kindergarten

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Is your little one starting kindergarten in the fall? Use these books to talk about what it will be like and what your child can expect.

Go to List
small boy holding baby
Books about the Arrival of a New Sibling

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Are you expecting a new baby? Concerned about how your child(ren) will react? Check out these books to get ready for the new addition to your family.

Go to List
child on toddler potty
Books about Toilet Training

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Is your little one getting ready to use the potty? These books will help you succeed!

Go to List
toddler reading book sitting in bed
Books about Transitioning into a Big Kid Bed

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Is it time to move your little one from the crib to a big kid bed? Here are some great books to address any fears or concerns.

Go to List
Ghost Read-Alikes for Younger Readers

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The Fall 2018 Family Read Ghost by Jason Reynolds is recommended for students in grades 3-8. We want everyone to participate at the October 13 Field Day, so here’s a short list of suggested books for younger readers. Is the one you want checked out? Le …

Go to List
that's me loving you
Holiday Shopping Guide for Ages 0-5: Books

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Here you will find book suggestions for little ones. Some books are award winners, some we love to use in storytime, and some we give as gifts to our own family and friends. Hi Fly Guy Arnold, Tedd When Buzz captures a fly to enter in The Amazing Pet S …

Go to List
Cover of picture book called You Hold Me Up
Indigenous Reads by Indigenous Authors

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

It is great to share indigenous texts with your little ones that take place in the present day. This will give indigenous children the opportunity to see themselves within the text (what we call the “mirror” in the educational field) and children who a …

Go to List
golden rule
Picture Books with Jewish Characters

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

From the Association of Jewish Libraries comes a list of picture books that features stories of Jews and non-Jews standing up for each other, working out differences, and confronting prejudice.

Go to List
Two African American girls looking at a book, wearing red shirts
Picture Books with Multicultural Characters

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Discover stories that feature characters of different races and religions.

Go to List
Child wearing red cape and white shirt with blue star on the front
Picture/Board Books About Gender, Identity, & Sexuality

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Find books for your little ones on any of these topics.

Go to List
cover of book called 1621 : a new look at Thanksgiving
Thanksgiving Books

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

This list emphasizes authentic versions of the Thanksgiving story from a Native American perspective, and also includes books that celebrate gratitude and spending time with family around the Thanksgiving holiday.

Go to List