Select Page
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Ypsi Family Read

The Ypsi Family Read encourages kids and adults to read together with a “One Community, One Book” model. We’ll select a new book each year, provide plenty of copies, and host discussion groups and related programs. Each Family Read ends with a special event that lets kids dive in to the book’s theme.
The 2021 Family Read was virtual. Click the button to the right to listen to the chapters and find activities you can do at home. We still have copies of the book you can check out!

Family Read

Book Lists

The main book for the Ypsi Family Read is designed to appeal to upper elementary and middle school students. We also select a list of picture books related to the theme so younger kids can join in the fun! 

Ghost Read-Alikes for Younger Readers

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The Fall 2018 Family Read Ghost by Jason Reynolds is recommended for students in grades 3-8. We want everyone to participate at the October 13 Field Day, so here’s a short list of suggested books for younger readers. Is the one you want checked out? Le …

Go to List
grid of four picture book covers
Look Both Ways Read Alikes for Younger Readers

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Counting on Community Nagara, Innosanto author, illustrator. Find in catalog Dear Mr. President Siers, Sophie, 1969- author. Find in catalog I Am Enough Byers, Grace, author. Shares a story of loving who you are, respecting others and being kind to one …

Go to List
Lucky Broken Girl Read-Alikes for Younger Readers

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Find some books for younger readers to participate in the 2019 Winter Ypsi Family Read!

Go to List
book cover
The First Rule of Punk Read Alikes for Younger Readers

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Our Spring 2020 Family Read is The First Rule of Punk by Celiz C. Perez. It is perfect for grades 3-8. We want everyone to be part of the conversation. Checkout these related books to share with younger readers! A is for Activist Nagara, Innosanto Find …

Go to List
The Parker Inheritance Read-Alikes for Younger Readers

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Our Fall 2019 Family Read selection is full of mysteries and local history. Younger readers can join the conversation with these picture books that touch on the same themes.

Go to List
X