Select Page
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Family Read

This year, the Family Read is expanding beyond Ypsi! Belleville Area District Library is teaming up with us to encourage kids and adults to read, talk, and create together. We are excited to announce that we have selected the recent National Book Award Finalist Maizy Chen’s Last Chance by Lisa Yee as the 2023 Family Read.

Each Family Read includes events that help readers dive into the book’s themes and bring the book to life. You’ll have the chance to make cream cheese wontons from the book, write cookie fortunes, play card games like Maizy and her grandfather, learn about composting, meet the author for a virtual conversation, and make tiny food. Lisa Yee said in an interview, “I’d love it if it encourages my readers to explore their own life stories, and how their families, found or otherwise, came to be,” so we’ll provide opportunities for all ages to create art, family trees, and a family story photo album. 

Visit our Maizy Chen’s Last Chance webpage to find discussion prompts and fun activities you can do at home or in a classroom. Teachers can contact jodi@ypsilibrary.org to request copies of the book.

Events

Book Lists

The main book for the Ypsi Family Read is designed to appeal to upper elementary and middle school students. We also select a list of picture books related to the theme so younger kids can join in the fun! 

American as Paneer Pie Readalikes for Younger Readers

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Archie celebrates Diwali Find in catalog Bindu’s bindis Find in catalog Bracelets for Bina’s brothers Find in catalog Home is in between Find in catalog Sugar in milk Find in catalog The Arabic quilt : an immigrant story Find in catalog The …

Go to List
Ghost Read-Alikes for Younger Readers

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The Fall 2018 Family Read Ghost by Jason Reynolds is recommended for students in grades 3-8. We want everyone to participate at the October 13 Field Day, so here’s a short list of suggested books for younger readers. Is the one you want checked out? Le …

Go to List
grid of four picture book covers
Look Both Ways Read Alikes for Younger Readers

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Counting on Community Nagara, Innosanto author, illustrator. Find in catalog Dear Mr. President Siers, Sophie, 1969- author. Find in catalog I Am Enough Byers, Grace, author. Shares a story of loving who you are, respecting others and being kind to one …

Go to List
Lucky Broken Girl Read-Alikes for Younger Readers

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Find some books for younger readers to participate in the 2019 Winter Ypsi Family Read!

Go to List
book cover
The First Rule of Punk Read Alikes for Younger Readers

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Our Spring 2020 Family Read is The First Rule of Punk by Celiz C. Perez. It is perfect for grades 3-8. We want everyone to be part of the conversation. Checkout these related books to share with younger readers! A is for Activist Nagara, Innosanto Find …

Go to List
The Parker Inheritance Read-Alikes for Younger Readers

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Our Fall 2019 Family Read selection is full of mysteries and local history. Younger readers can join the conversation with these picture books that touch on the same themes.

Go to List