Select Page

Interest: Ypsi Family Read

book cover
The First Rule of Punk: Be Yourself!

Published: January 20, 2020

This season’s pick is 2018 Pura Belpré Author Honor Book The First Rule of Punk by Celia C. Perez. Maria Luisa, known to friends and family as Malú, loves punk rock, skateboarding, zines, and Soyrizo (but not cilantro). When her college-professor mom takes a new job, they move thousands of miles from her music-loving dad, who reminds her that everything will be ok as long as she remembers the first rule of punk: be yourself. She learns more about her Mexican heritage and Chicanx influences on her favorite music genre from her new neighbors and eventually forms a band that …

Post

book cover
The First Rule of Punk Read Alikes for Younger Readers

Our Spring 2020 Family Read is The First Rule of Punk by Celiz C. Perez. It is perfect for grades 3-8. We want everyone to be part of the conversation. Checkout these related books to share with younger readers! What If… Berger, Samantha author. Find in catalog This Little Trailblazer: A girl power primer Holub, Joan author. Find in catalog Punk Farm Krosoczka, Jarrett Find in catalog Strictly No Elephants Mantchev, Lisa Find in catalog Just a Minute: A Trickster Tale and Counting Book Morales, Yuyi Find in catalog Viva Frida Morales, Yuyi Find in catalog Dreamers Morales, Yuyi author. …

token
Family Read Ypsi History Geocache Scavenger Hunt

Published: October 8, 2019

Ready to go on an adventure? Get a chance to explore historical Ypsilanti on the Family Read scavenger hunt! Collect all 6 tokens to win a special prize.

Post

parker inheritance
Solve A Mystery with the Ypsi Family Read

Published: September 9, 2019

The Ypsi Family Read brings our entire community together around one book. This season’s pick, The Parker Inheritance by Varian Johnson, will come to life with a scavenger hunt that takes families on a trip through local history.

Post

The Parker Inheritance Read-Alikes for Younger Readers

Our Fall 2019 Family Read selection is full of mysteries and local history. Younger readers can join the conversation with these picture books that touch on the same themes.

Vote for the Next Family Read Book

Published: July 10, 2019

Cast your vote for the next Family Read book. After voting, use a special code to earn a badge in the Summer Challenge!

Post

Help Pick the Fall 2019 Family Read Book

Published: June 11, 2019

Each season we choose an Ypsi Family Read book we hope everyone will read. Then we end the season with a fun family party. With input from students at Erickson and Estabrook, we narrowed our list for the fall to five titles! Help us decide which book will be the Fall 2019 Family Read. Click the button to the right to tell us which books and celebration events sound the best to you. After you fill out the ballot, log the code BOOKBALLOT in the Summer Challenge Family Read Explore Challenge to earn a badge! Family Read Ballot The Parker …

Post

See pictures from the Ypsi Family Read Cuban Arts Celebration!

Published: March 20, 2019

This season we read Lucky Broken Girl, the 2018 Pura Belpré award winner by local author Ruth Behar. In the book, Ruthie Mizrahi and her family have recently emigrated from Castro’s Cuba to New York City. Just when she’s finally beginning to gain confidence in her mastery of English – and enjoying her reign as her neighborhood’s hopscotch queen – a horrific car accident leaves her in a body cast and confined to her bed for a long recovery. As Ruthie’s world shrinks because of her inability to move, her powers of observation and her heart grow larger and she …

Post

lucky broken girl cover
Ypsi Family Read: Lucky Broken Girl by Ruth Behar

Published: January 10, 2019

This season’s Family Read selection, Lucky Broken Girl by Ruth Behar, is an unforgettable multicultural coming of age story.

Post

Lucky Broken Girl Read-Alikes for Younger Readers

Find some books for younger readers to participate in the 2019 Winter Ypsi Family Read!