Select Page

Interest: Book Lovers

OverDrive ebooks and Macmillan Publishers

Published: November 26, 2019

Beginning November 1, 2019, Macmillan Publishers, one of the top five publishers in the U.S., changed its ebook pricing and availability policy for libraries. Rather than allow libraries to purchase as many copies as desired on the date a book is published, Macmillan now restricts initial sales to just a single copy. After a subsequent eight-week embargo on that title, libraries can buy additional copies, at a higher price. The American Library Association (ALA) is fighting back. Their initial statement about the embargo can be found here. An open letter to librarians from Macmillan CEO John Sargent claims the increase …

Post

Local Authors Featured at the Library

Published: October 12, 2019

Calling all writers and book lovers! YDL presents our first-ever Local Authors Showcase, featuring authors from the Ypsilanti-Ann Arbor area. The Showcase is one of several events we’re hosting during our Grand Opening Celebration of YpsiWrites. We’re teaming up with 826 Michigan and EMU’s Office of Campus and Community Writing to support our local writing community with programs and activities.  Besides the Local Author Showcase, the Grand Opening Celebration features writing activities, the Writers of Ypsilanti, and light refreshments. Writers, come talk to a published author and learn how they did it!  Book Lovers, come support local authors and find …

Post

token
Family Read Ypsi History Geocache Scavenger Hunt

Published: October 8, 2019

Ready to go on an adventure? Get a chance to explore historical Ypsilanti on the Family Read scavenger hunt! Collect all 6 tokens to win a special prize.

Post

Dr. Hanna-Attisha
How a Doctor Exposed the Flint Water Crisis

Published: October 1, 2019

What The Eyes Don’t See, Dr. Mona Hanna Attisha’s groundbreaking account of the Flint Water Crisis, is featured this fall as part of the Great Michigan Read. Dr. Mona will visit Ypsilanti October 21.

Post

Top Challenged Books of 2018

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian Alexie, Sherman, 1966- Budding cartoonist Junior leaves his troubled school on the Spokane Indian Reservation to attend an all-white farm town school where the only other Indian is the school mascot. Find in catalog Thirteen Reasons Why Asher, Jay When high school student Clay Jenkins receives a box in the mail containing thirteen cassette tapes recorded by his classmate Hannah, who committed suicide, he spends a bewildering and heartbreaking night crisscrossing their town, listening to Hannah’s voice recounting the events leading up to her death. Find in catalog A Day in the …

Celebrate Banned Books Week

Published: September 23, 2019

Exercise your right to read whatever you want during Banned Books Week! Visit YDL-Whittaker this week for an interactive exhibit and read-aloud featuring banned and challenged books.

Post

woman signing books
Be part of our Local Author Showcase

Published: September 18, 2019

Local authors can apply to be part of our showcase as part of the Ypsi Writes kickoff October 19.

Post

parker inheritance
Solve A Mystery with the Ypsi Family Read

Published: September 9, 2019

The Ypsi Family Read brings our entire community together around one book. This season’s pick, The Parker Inheritance by Varian Johnson, will come to life with a scavenger hunt that takes families on a trip through local history.

Post

The Parker Inheritance Read-Alikes for Younger Readers

Our Fall 2019 Family Read selection is full of mysteries and local history. Younger readers can join the conversation with these picture books that touch on the same themes.

EMU football player
Get EMU Football Tickets with a new Library Card

Published: September 5, 2019

September is Library Card Sign Up Month, and we’re giving out tickets to EMU football games to new card holders (while supplies last!)

Post