Select Page

Interest: Book Lovers

hoopla
Have you heard all the hoopla?

Published: March 26, 2020

Check out 8 items a month via Hoopla (and now through April 30: Bonus Borrows!). Read on for tips and details.

Post

Women’s History Books

This collection of books focuses on prominent women and female-centered movements throughout history.

book cover
The First Rule of Punk: Be Yourself!

Published: January 20, 2020

We had lots of library activities planned to hep bring the book alive. But in our effort to help stop the spread of Covid-19, the library had to close. Instead, log into the Spring Challenge to earn two special badges. To earn the Family Read badge, visit the author’s website and explore some of her suggested activities on page 6 of this resource guide. She has a playlist where you can listen to songs from the book. And you can make your own zines using Linette Lao’s YpsiWrites Zine Making Guide. Upload a photo of it in the YpsiWrites Spring …

Post

book cover
The First Rule of Punk Read Alikes for Younger Readers

Our Spring 2020 Family Read is The First Rule of Punk by Celiz C. Perez. It is perfect for grades 3-8. We want everyone to be part of the conversation. Checkout these related books to share with younger readers! What If… Berger, Samantha author. Find in catalog This Little Trailblazer: A girl power primer Holub, Joan author. Find in catalog Punk Farm Krosoczka, Jarrett Find in catalog Strictly No Elephants Mantchev, Lisa Find in catalog Just a Minute: A Trickster Tale and Counting Book Morales, Yuyi Find in catalog Viva Frida Morales, Yuyi Find in catalog Dreamers Morales, Yuyi author. …

OverDrive ebooks and Macmillan Publishers

Published: November 26, 2019

Beginning November 1, 2019, Macmillan Publishers, one of the top five publishers in the U.S., changed its ebook pricing and availability policy for libraries. Rather than allow libraries to purchase as many copies as desired on the date a book is published, Macmillan now restricts initial sales to just a single copy. After a subsequent eight-week embargo on that title, libraries can buy additional copies, at a higher price. The American Library Association (ALA) is fighting back. Their initial statement about the embargo can be found here. An open letter to librarians from Macmillan CEO John Sargent claims the increase …

Post

Local Authors Featured at the Library

Published: October 12, 2019

Calling all writers and book lovers! YDL presents our first-ever Local Authors Showcase, featuring authors from the Ypsilanti-Ann Arbor area. The Showcase is one of several events we’re hosting during our Grand Opening Celebration of YpsiWrites. We’re teaming up with 826 Michigan and EMU’s Office of Campus and Community Writing to support our local writing community with programs and activities.  Besides the Local Author Showcase, the Grand Opening Celebration features writing activities, the Writers of Ypsilanti, and light refreshments. Writers, come talk to a published author and learn how they did it!  Book Lovers, come support local authors and find …

Post

token
Family Read Ypsi History Geocache Scavenger Hunt

Published: October 8, 2019

Ready to go on an adventure? Get a chance to explore historical Ypsilanti on the Family Read scavenger hunt! Collect all 6 tokens to win a special prize.

Post

Dr. Hanna-Attisha
How a Doctor Exposed the Flint Water Crisis

Published: October 1, 2019

What The Eyes Don’t See, Dr. Mona Hanna Attisha’s groundbreaking account of the Flint Water Crisis, is featured this fall as part of the Great Michigan Read. Dr. Mona will visit Ypsilanti October 21.

Post

Top Challenged Books of 2018

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian Alexie, Sherman, 1966- Budding cartoonist Junior leaves his troubled school on the Spokane Indian Reservation to attend an all-white farm town school where the only other Indian is the school mascot. Find in catalog Thirteen Reasons Why Asher, Jay When high school student Clay Jenkins receives a box in the mail containing thirteen cassette tapes recorded by his classmate Hannah, who committed suicide, he spends a bewildering and heartbreaking night crisscrossing their town, listening to Hannah’s voice recounting the events leading up to her death. Find in catalog A Day in the …

Celebrate Banned Books Week

Published: September 23, 2019

Exercise your right to read whatever you want during Banned Books Week! Visit YDL-Whittaker this week for an interactive exhibit and read-aloud featuring banned and challenged books.

Post

parker inheritance
Solve A Mystery with the Ypsi Family Read

Published: September 9, 2019

The Ypsi Family Read brings our entire community together around one book. This season’s pick, The Parker Inheritance by Varian Johnson, will come to life with a scavenger hunt that takes families on a trip through local history.

Post

The Parker Inheritance Read-Alikes for Younger Readers

Our Fall 2019 Family Read selection is full of mysteries and local history. Younger readers can join the conversation with these picture books that touch on the same themes.

EMU football player
Get EMU Football Tickets with a new Library Card

Published: September 5, 2019

September is Library Card Sign Up Month, and we’re giving out tickets to EMU football games to new card holders (while supplies last!)

Post

Bestselling Author Elizabeth Berg to visit YDL

Published: July 29, 2019

The author of more than 30 published novels, including NYT bestsellers and Oprah’s Book Club selections, will visit YDL on August 8, 2019!

Post

Vote for the Next Family Read Book

Published: July 10, 2019

Cast your vote for the next Family Read book. After voting, use a special code to earn a badge in the Summer Challenge!

Post

Help Pick the Fall 2019 Family Read Book

Published: June 11, 2019

Each season we choose an Ypsi Family Read book we hope everyone will read. Then we end the season with a fun family party. With input from students at Erickson and Estabrook, we narrowed our list for the fall to five titles! Help us decide which book will be the Fall 2019 Family Read. Click the button to the right to tell us which books and celebration events sound the best to you. After you fill out the ballot, log the code BOOKBALLOT in the Summer Challenge Family Read Explore Challenge to earn a badge! Family Read Ballot The Parker …

Post

John Cotton Dana Library Public Relations Award
YDL’s TALK service recognized with John Cotton Dana Award

Published: May 16, 2019

The Ypsilanti District Library has been awarded a John Cotton Dana Award, the most prestigious award of the American Library Association. The award recognizes YDL’s work on  TALK: Text and Learn for Kindergarten, an early literacy text messaging service.

Post

read it
Read It!

Basic grammar and reading tools and adapted reading material for English Language Learners.

See pictures from the Ypsi Family Read Cuban Arts Celebration!

Published: March 20, 2019

This season we read Lucky Broken Girl, the 2018 Pura Belpré award winner by local author Ruth Behar. In the book, Ruthie Mizrahi and her family have recently emigrated from Castro’s Cuba to New York City. Just when she’s finally beginning to gain confidence in her mastery of English – and enjoying her reign as her neighborhood’s hopscotch queen – a horrific car accident leaves her in a body cast and confined to her bed for a long recovery. As Ruthie’s world shrinks because of her inability to move, her powers of observation and her heart grow larger and she …

Post

Young Muslim girl wearing a pink headscarf
Muslim Books for Little Ones

Thanks to the tireless work of Arab literature blogs and library blogs, we can offer you this list of picture books featuring Muslim children and their families. We hope these books will provide a deeper understanding of the Muslim American and global Muslim experience.