Select Page

Interest: Little Ones

It’s a Winter Wonderland at YDL

Published: December 4, 2019

Pet a reindeer, make a sparkling craft, watch an ice carver, and sip on hot cocoa. Winter fun for the whole family!

Post

School posters and toys along a wall
Pretend Play at YDL-Whittaker

Published: September 5, 2019

Discover educational toys in our pretend play spaces. We’ve changed over to a new theme for Fall 2019, “Let’s Play School.”

Post

Visit the Renaissance Festival or Detroit Zoo with your Library Card!

Published: September 3, 2019

Summer is over, but there’s still plenty of fun to be had in Michigan. Your library card can unlock discounts on fall adventures!

Post

Read, Learn, and WIN with the Summer Challenge!

Published: June 12, 2019

Challenge your mind! This all-summer, all-ages game lets you win awesome prizes for reading, going to educational events, and exploring the Ypsilanti community.

Post

John Cotton Dana Library Public Relations Award
YDL’s TALK service recognized with John Cotton Dana Award

Published: May 16, 2019

The Ypsilanti District Library has been awarded a John Cotton Dana Award, the most prestigious award of the American Library Association. The award recognizes YDL’s work on  TALK: Text and Learn for Kindergarten, an early literacy text messaging service.

Post

Spinning Dot’s Theatre for the Very Young

Published: March 27, 2019

On Saturday, March 30, at 10:30am, Spinning Dot Theatre’s interactive play, Imaginanimals, is coming to YDL-Whittaker.

Post

Young Muslim girl wearing a pink headscarf
Muslim Books for Little Ones

Thanks to the tireless work of Arab literature blogs and library blogs, we can offer you this list of picture books featuring Muslim children and their families. We hope these books will provide a deeper understanding of the Muslim American and global Muslim experience.

Childhood Resilience

Find books that tie in with YDL’s newest exhibit, The Power of Children, in this list. These are stories of children who faced adversity unflinchingly.

Lucky Broken Girl Read-Alikes for Younger Readers

Find some books for younger readers to participate in the 2019 Winter Ypsi Family Read!

Holiday Shopping Guide for Ages 0-5: BOOKS

Published: December 1, 2018

Whether you check them out or give them as gifts, these books will become fast favorites for kids ages 5 and under!

Post